Calmac website search form
The Board

The Board

The David MacBrayne Limited Board is the principal decision-making forum for DML. It has overall responsibility for leading and controlling the Group and is accountable to the parent company's sole shareholder, the Scottish Ministers, for financial and operational performance. The Board approves Group strategy and monitors performance. The Board has adopted a formal schedule of matters specifically reserved for its decision, which is reviewed on an annual basis.

The role of the Chairman is distinct and separate, with a clear division of responsibility.

The Chair leads the Board and ensures the effective engagement and contribution of all Non-Executive and Executive Directors. Executive Directors have responsibility for all operating companies' business and act in accordance with the authority delegated from the Board. Responsibility for the implementation of policy, strategy and operational management is delegated to Executive management.

A minimum of four Board meetings are held each year. The Board is supplied with comprehensive information in advance of each meeting, including financial and operational reports covering the Group's business activities. Meetings are supplemented by workshops/development sessions as appropriate throughout the year.


The DML Board

Duncan Mackison - Interim CEO

Duncan Mackison is Interim CEO for David MacBrayne Limited. Duncan has more than 25 years' experience in senior executive roles at MD and CEO level responsible for the delivery of complex outsourced service contracts to government and local government customers in a variety of sectors including transport, defence, property and technology. He has significant experience in leading service transformation and change working for companies such as G4S, Serco, Buccleuch Group, David Macbrayne and Biffa, with responsibility for annual contract income values up to £400m and staff numbers up to 5,000. His early career was as an officer in the Royal Marines.


Erik Østergaard - Non Executive Chairman

Erik Østergaard OBE is CEO of a transport and logistics organisation.  He has more than 35 years of experience in senior management positions in the shipping, ferry and transportation industry  Originally trained in shipping, he later studied international economics and management at IMD in Lausanne, Stanford Graduate School of Business, California, and Boot School of Business, University of Chicago from where he earned a degree as Master of Business Administration.  He has held and holds office as a Non-Executive Board Member or Chairman of several companies in the shipping and transportation industry, numerous government committees and boards of trade associations.

David Beaton - Non-Executive Director

David Beaton was born and raised in Sutherland and has lived in the Isle of Skye for the last 35 years apart from a short spell in Chicago, United States as Managing Director for Stagecoach owned companies. He will bring direct knowledge and a lived experience of the key issues effecting rural and island communities. Mr Beaton has a wealth of public transport skills and experience. He has been involved in the public transport sector since 1988, with 25 years of that directly involved in managing public transport in the Highlands and Islands. He is also Chair of the local Royal National Lifeboat Institution fundraising committee.

Tim Ingram - Non-Executive Director

Tim Ingram brings health and safety, risk management and governance skills and a range of energy industry, marine and port operations experience. He Chairs David MacBrayne's HSEQ Committee and is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee. He was Non-Executive Director and Vice-Chair of Western Isles NHS Board, Principal Inspector at Health and Safety Executive and held director roles at Maersk Oil, Wood Group, Dana Petroleum and Port of Tyne. He now runs a specialist corporate safety consultancy.

Grant Macrae - Non-Executive Director

Grant Macrae is a member of ICAS and CIPFA, with extensive experience of audit, risk management and governance. He has led external audit of bodies across the public sector. He has participated in the development of international accounting standards. He was a Board Member of several bodies where he chaired finance or audit and risk committees. He was also an independent member of the audit and risk committee of two large organisations. He is currently a Scottish Police Authority Board Member.


Sharon O'Connor - Non-Executive Director

Sharon O'Connor is a Fellow and Chartered Director of the Institute of Directors and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Personnel Development as well as being professionally qualified in Marketing. She was the former Chair of the Education Authority NI and was previously Chief Executive of Derry City Council. She has extensive experience in capital projects, public services, economic development and tourism. Ms O'Connor serves on the Accounts Commission for Scotland; is a Board member of the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI); and the NI Transport Holding Company (Translink).

Kay Ryan - Non-Executive Director

Kay Ryan has held several senior commercial roles, latterly as Special Advisor to the Board of Loganair, the UK's largest regional airline where she had previously held the position of Chief Commercial Officer. Kay has led complex marketing, commercial and communication change projects and is a specialist in revenue and yield management. She has led contract negotiations with both national government and local councils involving significant contribution to vital transport links within the UK.

Close Don't show again